Winnipeg, MB- June 23, 2020 – Cereals Canada is pleased to announce that on June 22, Members approved the slate of Directors that will guide the organization, which has been formed by the amalgamation of the heritage Cereals Canada and the Canadian International Grains Institute (Cigi).

The Board Members are: Todd Hames, Alberta Wheat Commission 

Jean-Marc Ruest, Richardson 

Hannah Konschuh, Alberta Wheat Commission 

Jeff Cockwill, Viterra 

Brett Halstead, Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission 

Jennifer Marchand, Cargill 

Jake Leguee, Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission 

Darren Amerongen, Parrish and Heimbecker 

Glenn Tait, Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission 

Matt Bingham, G3 

Robert Misko, Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association 

Trish Jordan, Bayer 

Drew Baker, Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association 

Jeff Bertholet, BASF 

Henry Van Ankum, Grain Farmers of Ontario 

Adam Dyck, Warburtons 

The Board of Directors provides Cereals Canada with governance to steer the organization’s operations and ensure fiscal responsibility.  They will lead a strategic planning process that will be undertaken this summer.

The Board of Directors has elected Todd Hames as Chair.  Also elected to serve on the Executive Committee is Jennifer Marchand (Vice-Chair), Robert Misko (Treasurer), and Jean-Marc Ruest (Secretary).

“Each Director is passionate about the cereals value chain and brings to the table diverse experience and strategic knowledge to strengthen the organization's impact in Canada and beyond,” stated Hames.  “We are excited about the unique expertise that each individual brings to the table as we continue to evolve and lead the organization forward.”

The Board also selected the Governance Committee that will provide oversight for the governance policies of the organization, helping to ensure effective and appropriate Board functionality.  The Members of the Governance Committee are, Jake Leguee, Henry Van Ankum, Jeff Bertholet, and, Jeff Cockwill.

“The next major step will be the appointment of a CEO for the amalgamated organization.  The search process is now underway, with the Executive Committee serving as the search committee.  The senior leadership team has the confidence of the Board and will continue to guide Cereals Canada through the ongoing integration process,” concluded Hames.


For more information, please contact:

Brenna Mahoney, Director of Communications and Stakeholder Relations

Phone:  204-296-2736

Email:   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Members Login

Cereals Canada is a national, not-for-profit organization that brings a broad and diverse collaboration of partners from all sectors of the cereals value chain.